Sunday, August 18, 2019

A total of five awards were bagged by IWEP faculty and students in the recently concluded Pest Management Council of the Philippines (PMCP), Inc. Annual Scientific Conference on May 10-12, 2017 in Malay, Aklan. The conference was held at the Crown Regency Resort and Convention Center at the world-famous Boracay Island, with the theme, “Strategic Pest Management… Beyond ASEAN Integration”. The three-day activity was concluded with a banquet and the ceremonies for the Pest Management Awards (PMA) and the Best Undergraduate Thesis (BUT) Awards.

Dr. Pio A. Javier, a retired Research Professor of Entomology at IWEP was awarded with the PMA in Extension and Community Development. This award was given in recognition of his dedication to develop crop protection technologies and its promotion and extension to farmers, DA technicians and students. Dr. Javier and his team developed biological-based management strategies against insect pests of vegetables and corn, such as earwigs. He is very well known for his research in the management of dengue mosquitoes using oviposition attractants and the predatory water bug.

The PMA in instruction was given to Dr. Teresita U. Dalisay, IWEP’s OIC-Director and Associate Professor of plant pathology. A researcher and an extension personnel first, then a teacher and now an administrator all-in-one, Dr. Dalisay has been in the four corners of the institution, encompassing more than 30 years of service. She is well known to her colleagues and students as the ‘Mother Fungus’, primarily because of her vast experience and expertise in Fungal Taxonomy and Ecology. As of the writing, she already mentored 24 undergraduate and 7 graduate students towards completion of their degrees. Some of these students have won Best Thesis Awards and presented their study both locally and internationally. Lastly, she also guided high school students in their Science Investigatory Projects, which led them to win in the regional and national levels.

IWEP fresh graduates also bested other students all over the Philippines and nabbed all the three BUT awards, which are sponsored by the PMCP and LEADS Agri.

Ms. Jillian E. Timple won the BUT Award in Entomology for her thesis entitled, “Molecular marker-based detection of primary bacterial endosymbiont associated with the coconut scale insects, Aspidiotus destructor (Signoret) and Aspidiotus rigidus (Reyne)”. Ms. Timple is under the guidance of Dr. Barbara L. Caoili, Professor of Entomology.

Ms. Rachele L. de Torres bested other plant pathology thesis students in the Philippines and bagged the BUT Award in Plant Pathology for her thesis entitled, “Influence of host genotype on the population structure of Xanthomonas oryzae pv. oryzicola (Fang et al.) Swings et al.”. Dr. Enda Y. Ardales, Professor of Plant Pathology, is Ms. De Torres’s adviser.

Lastly, Mr. Aaron Paul A. Aguas was given the BUT in Weed Science for his thesis entitled, “The reproductive potential and seed longevity of ivy gourd (Coccinia grandis L.) Voight ”. Mr. Aguas’s victory would not be possible without the support from his adviser, Prof. Juanito V. Bariuan, a weed science Associate Professor at IWEP.

(MPS Rivarez)